Primary voting tomorrow

By Dalton Wolverton—

Staff Writer

Erath County voters go to the courthouse Tuesday to select nominees for presidency, sheriff, constable and state representative as well as candidates for statewide office.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Some individuals think that the Texas primary could be “record setting”.

“It seems that the statewide turnout has nearly doubled since 2012,” said Erath County Republican Party Chairman Danny Pelton. “I think this could be a record setting year.”

Pelton also said that he believes the three contested races for constable, sheriff and county commissioner are drawing people to the polls.

“It is pretty unusual to have three contested races in Erath County,” said Pelton.

Erath County voters can place their ballot at the courthouse, just one of the many locations in Stephenville. Photo by Ashley Ford

Erath County voters can place their ballot at the courthouse, just one of the many locations in Stephenville.
Photo by Ashley Ford

Pelton said he’s not sure how the nationwide presidential election will turn out, but he believes Republican U.S. Senator Ted Cruz has a lead in Texas in the GOP campaign for president

“I think Cruz is probably in the driver’s seat in Texas,” said Pelton.

Texan News attempted to contact Erath County Democratic Chairman Norman Holcomb, but was unsuccessful.

Texas voters are only allowed to vote in one political party’s primary election. This means that voters will only see candidates from one party on the primary election ballot that they receive.

The positions on the Republican ballot include Railroad Commissioner, District Attorney for the 226th Judicial District, Places 3, 5 and 9 on the Texas Supreme Court, Places 5 and 6 on the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, a place on the State Board of Education, State Representative for District 59,  Place 3 on the Eleventh Court of Appeals, County Attorney, Tax Assessor-Collector, County Chairman and four propositions to be voted on. The propositions focus on property taxes, immigration laws, labor unions and the 10th amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

There are also three contested races in Erath County. Leslie “Tish” Lecroy and Clell D.  Murray are running against incumbent Tommy Bryant for Erath County Sheriff. Dave Wesley Dove is up against incumbent Joe Brown for Precinct 2 Erath County Commissioner. The Erath County Constable race includes Jimmy Towe, Jason Shipper, and Scott Daily. Incumbent Larry Ciccarrelli is retiring at the end of his term.

The Democratic ballot includes U.S. Representative District 25, Railroad Commissioner, Place 3, 5 and 9, on the Texas Supreme Court, Places 2, 5 and 6 on the Texas Court of Appeals, County Chairman and six referenda items.  The referenda items include economic security and prosperity, criminal justice,, climate, the Voting Rights Act, campus carry and  immigration reform.

Those that are interested in voting can check out all of the voter information on More information on this election can be found at

*All information regarding each ballot was found on the Erath County website.


Print pagePDF page

You may also like...