TCCJ, TNS attend TPA Convention

By: Sierra Wells

Managing Editor

The Texas Press Association (TPA) hosted their 2022 Convention & Tradeshow July 28-30 in San Marcos. The Texan News Service (TNS) attended to represent Tarleton State University and the Texas Center for Community Journalism (TCCJ).

TNS members at the conference included Editor-in-Chief Elizabeth Guajardo, Managing Editor Sierra Wells and Art Director Taite Read, who worked a booth with TNS Faculty Coordinator and TCCJ Director Austin Lewter.

“It was an amazing experience. We got to see different groups that work with separate parts of media and publishing business,” Guajardo said. “We also got to talk to people about the Texas Center of Community Journalism with Mr. Lewter which was really cool.”

TCCJ had one of the many news-related booths in the convention center. The booth served to inform people at the tradeshow about TCCJ activities along with the importance of TNS and college journalism.

“People who came up to the booth either knew about TCCJ and Tarleton or they didn’t know anything. For the ones who didn’t know anything, our job was to inform them about TCCJ as well as tell them what work they do and how it involves us TSU students,” Read said. “I felt comfortable talking to people who came up to the booth, and I enjoyed telling them about my experiences.”

Taite Read works the TCCJ booth.
Photo By: Sierra Wells

Other organizations with booths included the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas, UT School of Journalism and Media, UNT Digital Libraries, 4media, Advantage Newspaper Consultants, Column and more.

The tradeshow also featured a silent auction, which included a few Tarleton-related items. Profits from the auction went toward the Texas Newspaper Foundation, which provides funding for the TCCJ.

Austin Lewter announces the winners of the Tarleton swag bags.
Photo By: Sierra Wells

Lewter also held a drawing at the end of the tradeshow, the winners of which received their own Tarleton swag bags.

During the Hall of Fame Luncheon, Nonnie Barton and Mary Judson were honored with the TPA Golden 50 Award. Barton accepted her award on stage.

“It’s been a wonderful ride in the newspaper business. It’s one I never really expected to be in when I was young or have the inspiration to until I married into the newspaper family and that’s kind of what started it all,” Barton said.

George Dolan, Robert Moore, Greg Shrader and Ed Sterling were inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation 2022 Hall of Fame.

“One of the reasons that I continued in journalism is that I believe that the power of journalism can help communities tell those important stories, help communities tell the truth about itself and help communities prosper,” Moore said.

Informational sessions were offered at the convention, including the National Issues Brief, Non Profit Journalism, Succession Game Plan, Social Media Law for Laymen and/or Dummies, Election of Officers, Free Information and Ideas and a publisher’s Q&A.

The convention concluded on June 30. Next year’s TPA Convention and Tradeshow will take place on June 1-3 at Kalahari Resorts in Round Rock.

 386 total views,  2 views today

Print pagePDF page

You may also like...