Texas Constitutional Carry law goes into effect
By: Sierra Wells
Texas follows in the footsteps of 20 other U.S. states and removes the permit requirement for carrying handguns when they passed the Constitutional Carry law which went into effect in Texas on Sept. 1.
Originally signed on June 16 by Texas Governor Greg Abbott, this law dictates that all qualifying Texans no longer need a license for carrying a handgun.
During the signing Abbott said, “You can understand why we are pushing back against this narrative across America, where people are saying, from the federal level to the local level, that second amendment rights are under assault, that government officials are saying, heck yes, government is coming to take your guns. Texas will not let that happen.”
This law, however, does not allow every person in Texas to purchase and carry a firearm. Gun owners must be at be least 21-years-old and cannot be banned from purchasing ammunition in accordance with Federal law or restricted from carrying a firearm into a public place in accordance with Texas law.
Also, an individual will not be able to purchase or own a gun if he or she has been convicted of the following within the previous five years: Disorderly Conduct – Discharge a Firearm, Deadly Conduct, Assault Causes Bodily Injury, Terroristic Threat or Disorderly Conduct – Displaying a Firearm.
Texas will maintain that certain public areas are to be deemed gun-free. These areas include schools, amusement parks, polling places, mental hospitals, courts, hospitals, nursing homes, U.S Post Office, racetracks, bars, civil commitment facilities, correctional facilities, professional sporting events, secure airport areas, any room a government entity is having an open meeting in and anywhere within 1,000 feet of a place of execution on the day a death sentence is being carried out.
There has been backlash against the passing of this law. Dallas Police Chief Edgardo Garcia spoke out against the law along with his fellow officers.
“It makes our job, the job of our men and women, more dangerous,” Garcia said. “A minimum level of training is not asking too much for carrying a firearm and is consistent with the second amendment.”
We talked to several Tarleton students and got their opinions about this issue. Sophomore Sydney Sadberry is hesitant about the passing of this law.
When asked if she supports the new Constitutional Carry law Sadberry said, “No, not really. Having weaponry registered makes it easier for someone to be traced if they decide to commit a violent crime with those weapons. Additionally, without registration, it defeats the purpose of training and being taught to use the firearm safely. A similar situation would be like allowing someone to drive a car or operate heavy machinery without a license or any training.”
On the other hand, when asked for his opinion about the gun law, junior Austin Hunt was in full support of its passing.
Hunt said, “I agree with it because having a permit is not going to stop anyone bad from having a handgun, but allowing it so more people can carry a gun will allow more people who are law abiding to have a gun, which will be more of a deterrent.”
Currently, according to the campus carry rack card, Tarleton State University’s handgun policy states, “Tarleton respects the right of properly licensed individuals to carry concealed handguns where permitted by law. It is the policy of Tarleton that individuals who are licensed to carry concealed handguns may do so on campus except in locations and at activities prohibited by law or by this policy. This policy establishes GUN FREE ZONES, pursuant to state and federal law.”
For more information about the Constitutional Carry law, visit www.uslawshield.com.
535 total views, 3 views today